Nursing student recognised with Ueno Award

Published on: 28 Nov 2023

UENO 2023 Award winner Karin Sophi Keng Leng NG holding her certificate in front of the Australian, Japan and aboriginal flags

Congratulations to the winner of the Ueno Award for 2023 - Karin Sophia Keng Leng NG.

Karin is studying her Diploma of Nursing, and won the award that recognises commitment to study and strong contribution to community as a TasTAFE international student.

Karin’s dedication to her studies at TasTAFE have seen her earn a position as an aged care worker, and away from work and study Karin spends time volunteering at Hilary's English Class, where she assists migrant students with written tasks and organises group activities.

“I am dedicated to my studies in the Diploma of Nursing at TasTAFE, where I strive to excel academically and enjoy participating and assisting in TasTAFE events. Beyond TasTAFE, I actively engage in various activities, including volunteering in English classes at TasTAFE, working casually at an aged care facility, and competing in badminton.” Karen said following her win.

“Balancing my commitments, I find joy and fun in preparing dinners with roommates to celebrate our collective successes and simultaneously creating meaningful memories. Recently, I've begun exploring Launceston's trails with friends from both the student residence and church.”

TasTAFE International Student Advisor Angie Wu was full of praise of Karen:

“It’s an absolute pleasure to have such an exceptional student like Karin, who is truly deserving of this award. She truly represents the values that Ueno’s parents want to instil in the TasTAFE international student community… Karin is truly a kind soul! She is highly motivated to pursue the Diploma of Nursing at TasTAFE while working as an aged care worker, where she consistently provides personalized and extensive care to the elderly.”

The Ueno Awards honours former student Hidetaka Ueno who passed away during his studies in Tasmania in 1998. Mr Ueno’s parents made a donation to support a perpetual award for an outstanding international student.

We also wish to congratulate Blessing Bola Ojo and Pem Choki on being runners-up for the award, as well as Bhanu Bkakta Bhusal and Nikolai Beloguzov who were highly recommended.

Other News