Back to Health & Community Services

Important steps for the Diploma of Nursing

Applications open on 8 November for the 2022 intake of HLT54115 Diploma of Nursing.

In 2022, in addition to our standard 2 year program, TasTAFE will be offering the HLT54115 Diploma of Nursing as an intensive 18-month program. Find out more about how this program is structured before applying.


  • Alanvale
  • Devonport
  • Clarence

Attendance options

  • Full-time

Study type

  • Mixed Learning
  • On-Site

Tuition Fees

Please note: The course overview is intended as a guide only. Not all courses are available at all locations or through all study types and attendance options. Please check Locations, Dates and Times below or enquire for further information.

If you enjoy working with people of all ages and find fulfilment in caring and assisting others… a career in Nursing awaits!

Opportunities in the health sector continue to grow right across the country, with high employment outcomes for nursing graduates… so it’s a great time to start your career in this area!

This course is the essential minimum requirement to work as an Enrolled Nurse in Australia and will give you the opportunity to develop advanced skills in performing clinical assessments, contributing to the care of people with complex needs, administering and monitoring medications and IV therapy, effectively communicating with patients and colleagues, plus a host of other duties. You’ll also learn to implement and monitor care for people with mental health conditions, and acute and chronic health problems, as well as how to care for older people and patients with complex needs.

On successful completion of the theoretical and practical simulation training components in each stage of the course, you will have the opportunity to undertake a clinical placement in a health care facility or hospital where you will get to use your new skills in the real world. You will be required to work shifts include morning or evening shifts, Monday to Friday, and you will be expected to manage family and work commitments in order to complete your shifts.

To satisfy Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency requirements for your registration and qualification, you will need to successfully undertake a minimum of 400 hours of work placement. But you won’t have to do it alone! Our highly experienced teaching team of industry professionals will be there to support your learning every step of the way – both in-class and out on placement.

To maintain our accreditation with the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation council (ANMAC), all applicants must meet a number of standards to enter into the HLT54115 – Diploma of Nursing. To discuss these requirements, including English proficiency, please contact us prior to applying for this course.

Successful completion of this course can lead to eligibility to apply for Enrolled Nurse registration with the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA).

Note - TasTAFE does not issue the NMBA registration and it is your responsibility to meet any additional requirements. These may include being 18 years of age, having a certain level of English proficiency.

Read more about how the TasTAFE Diploma is designed, by viewing the Conceptual Framework (PDF) or Conceptual Framework (Word).

Locations, dates & times

CampusDateAttendance/DurationStudy typeApply/Enquire
Alanvale31 Jan 2022 -
22 Dec 2023

Facilitated sessions face to face or online - Monday and Thursdays, 9:00 am - 3:30 pm

Mixed LearningFull
Clarence31 Jan 2022 -
22 Dec 2023

Facilitated sessions face to face or online - Mondays and Thursdays 9:00 am - 3:30pm

Mixed LearningFull
Statewide30 Jan 2022 -
30 Jun 2023

This course is the state-wide 18-month intensive program.

Mixed LearningApply now

Career opportunities

  • Enrolled Nurse

Important information

Due to the nature of the specific Enrolled Nursing units, recognition is unavailable for the following 15 units:

  • HLTENN001  Practise nursing within the Australian health care system
  • HLTENN002  Apply communication skills in nursing practice
  • HLTENN003  Perform clinical assessment and contribute to planning nursing care
  • HLTENN004  Implement, monitor and evaluate nursing care plans
  • HLTENN005  Contribute to nursing care of a person with complex needs
  • HLTENN006  Apply principles of wound management in the clinical environment
  • HLTENN007  Administer and monitor medicines and intravenous therapy
  • HLTENN008  Apply legal and ethical parameters to nursing practice
  • HLTENN009  Implement and monitor care for a person with mental health conditions
  • HLTENN010  Apply a palliative approach in nursing practice
  • HLTENN011  Implement and monitor care for a person with acute health problems
  • HLTENN012  Implement and monitor care for a person with chronic health problems
  • HLTENN013  Implement and monitor care of the older person
  • HLTENN015  Apply nursing practice in the primary health care setting
  • HLTENN025  Implement and monitor care for a person with diabetes

Each of these units has the Performance Evidence requirement of:

Undertaken nursing work in accordance with Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) professional practice standards, codes and guidelines

The NMBA Enrolled nurse standards for practice1 are the core practice standards that provide the framework for assessing Enrolled nurse (EN) practice (NMBA, 2016). Enrolled nurse programs of study support students to achieve the NMBA Enrolled nurse standards for practice (ANMAC, 2017).

A person cannot apply to register with the NMBA as an Enrolled nurse unless they have completed a program of study that is accredited by the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council (ANMAC) and approved by the NMBA (ANMAC, 2017). In order to achieve ANMAC accreditation, an education provider must be assessed again nine accreditation standards. Standard 1.32 dictates that in order to meet ANMAC standards an education provider must deliver the qualification of Diploma of Nursing, derived from the current National Health Training Package, at Australian Qualification Framework (AQF) Level 5 (ANMAC, 2017).

Whilst there are other health programs that allow for the teaching and assessment of many skills that are integral to the enrolled nurse role, completion of the Diploma of Nursing (currently HLT54115) is the only current nationally approved program of study that focuses on the teaching and assessment against the NMBA Enrolled nurse standards for practice. Therefore, even if students brings with them knowledge and skills from another role within the health environment, they still need to undertake learning at the Diploma level for all HLTENN units to ensure they are able to apply skills and knowledge to the appropriate standards of practice.

1NMBA Professional Standards (2016)

2ANMAC Enrolled Nurse Accreditation Standards (2017)

For the remaining ten units, you will be able to have your competency from prior learning and work experience recognised in this qualification.

Career opportunities

  • Enrolled Nurse

We’re here to help…

At TasTAFE, we understand that everyone's journey is different and sometimes you might need some extra support to achieve your study or career goals.

Whether you are at the very start of your training, returning to study after a long break, or looking to upskill in a specific area, we're here to help you to be successful in your chosen field of study, apprenticeship or traineeship.

Our student support services are available for all students, and aim to provide the support you need to make your learning experience just that little bit easier.

Find out more about what support is available