Business and ICT

ICT40418 Certificate IV in Information Technology Networking

ICT40418 Certificate IV in Information Technology Networking is part of the Information and Communications Technology Training Package. It provides the skills and knowledge for an individual to install and manage small scale networks, either as an independent network support technician or as part of a team.

The qualification provides specific networking skills and employability in an ICT environment in any industry.

Career Opportunities

Graduates completing this qualification will be likely to secure employment in an ICT networking role with useful skills and knowledge in network support areas.

Possible job titles relevant to this qualification include:

  • network support
  • network operations support
  • network operations technician
  • network technician
  • network support technician

TasTAFE can undertake training and assessments for traineeships, and workplace assessment (recognition) and/or training can be undertaken on a commercial basis.

Dates and Times

Campbell Street Campus

  • Next Intake:  Dates to be advised
  • Duration:  9 months including work placement
  • Call us on 1300 655 307 to register your interest

Learning Options

Depending on your needs, learning may be on-the-job, off-the-job or a combination of both.

Assessment Process

Throughout all assessments, Workplace Health & Safety procedures must be followed.

Recognition of Prior Learning

It makes sense that you should be recognised for the things you already know how to do. TasTAFE can assess your skills and knowledge based on your previous education, work history or life experience. This may help you gain your qualification a whole lot faster.

For further details please refer to our Recognition of Prior Learning page.

Fees and Payments

For further fee and payment information visit our Fees and Payment page.

Essential Requirements

No pre-requisites are required.

Student Support

TasTAFE’s enrolment and orientation process provides information about our resources, services and support. Further details relating to Student Support Services are available at our Student Support Services page.


ICT40418 Certificate IV in Information Technology Networking.

Qualification Requirements

To attain ICT40418 Certificate IV in Information Technology Networking, 17 units must be achieved – 8 core and 9 electives.

A full list of electives is available from the delivery team.


Get in contact with us

Express your interest

Find out more about this course

Course Units

Find a Course